Bursa’s DistrictsCentral Districts Osmangazi

Established on 18.06.1987 under the Law No.3391, Osmangazi Municipality is the largest andmost populated of the three districts of Bursa. Osmangaziis the largest district and Municipality ofthe Metropolitan Municipality of Bursa and also theone with the most problems in terms of housing,trade and commerce. Having a wide area of service,Osmangazi is virtually the heart of Bursa, withits cultural centers and historical places. Being thebiggest central district of Bursa, within its area of116.520 sq. kilometers, covers a space borderingwith Gökdere to the east, Nilüfer Stream and NewMudanya Road to the west, Samanl› Mountains,Nilüfer Rivulet and the fertile Bursa Plain to thenorth. Consisting of 92 quarters and having a populationof 630 thousand, Osmangazi is bigger than57 provinces in the country. It ranks eighth in sizeamong the districts in Turkey.Within the boundaries of Osmangazi Municipalityare places like: “Karagöz House”, “Atatürk Museum”,”Forestry Museum”, “Museum of Archeology”,”City Museum”, Open-Air Museum, TayyareCultural Center, Ahmet Vefik Pafla Theatre, StateFine Arts Gallery, Clock Tower, ,Irgand› with aHistorical Marketplace and Abdal Bridges,; historicalmosques like Alaaddin, Ulucami, Orhan, Kozahan,Fidanhan, ‹pekhan, Pirinçhan, Emirhan, Kapal›çarfl› (Covered Bazaar), Spas and mausoleumslike Osman Gazi, Orhan Gazi, Hüdavendigar, MuradII and Süleyman Çelebi.