From Hüdavendigar to Bursa Administration of the Vilayet (Province)

After Fatih declared ‹stanbul as the new capital ofOttoman Empire, Bursa was called as “Vilayet ofHüdavendigar”, and governed by a mutasarr›f after1844. In 1864, it was granted the status of “eyalet”and began to be governed by “governors” since1867. This promotion contributed much to the developmentof the city. Bursa was governed by famouspeople of the period such as Ahmet Vefikpasha, Sait pasha. Bursa became a seperate vilayetcentre in 1918 and was declared as a provincial capitalin 1923.Today, Bursa comprises 17 districts. The districtsof; Osmangazi, Nilüfer, Y›ld›r›m, Gemlik, Mudanya,Gürsu, and Kestel are central districts. The remainingdistricts are; ‹negöl, Orhangazi, ‹znik, M.Kemalpafla, Karacabey, Yeniflehir, Kesel, Orhaneli,Harmanc›k, and Büyükorhan villages, there was an organization which was chosenby the locals besides the organization appointedby central government. In each village, people calledas; “yi¤itbafl›”, or “ilerleri” were paying attentionto the issues of the village. The president of thesewas called “köy kethüdas›”. And president of theentire “köy kethüda”s was “ilbafl›”. Kad›s were inhabitingthe city. The administrative and judicialauthorities of the Kad› were valid in the entire regionbut the “subafl›” had no authority in the villages.In the neighborhoods, there were securities called”ases” strolling with the local security guards atnights.Each individual was responsible for the security ofthe village. That was a very democratic and participativeorganization model. The people were electingtheir high profile representatives from their villagesand neighborhoods. While the Turkish districtswere electing Turkish representatives, therewere non-muslim representatives in the non-muslimdistricts and neighborhoods as well.